Tabitha Rayne’s Book Taking Flight is excellent

What if men died out. Well. Not all of them but those that were left were infertile, mostly… is there any chance for humanities survival? And how would it impact the way we live on a day to day basis? What if men and women lived separately?

These are questions quite a few writers are thinking about, including me. And then I discovered Tabitha Raynes trilogy:

I have just read Taking Flight by Tabitha Rayne and I must recommend it to all my friends and readers who enjoy SF fiction of the speculative dystopian flavour. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

She has written about the development of a matriarchal society in which there are few male survivors and the end of the human race is a possibility. A theme that I am also exploring in my unpublished stories (I’ve been working on them for a couple of years) and I’m part of a team of of writers who have formed a group to encourage each other in developing stories in this specific genre: Dystopian Matriarchies.

Now, I’ve said it many times before but I am rubbish at writing book reviews. This is because I don’t want to give away any of the plot but the things that make a book so so good are often the plot twists. And when I read a book I like knowing nothing about it except that it will be worth reading.

So, with that in mind what can I tell you about Taking Flight? The main character, Deborah, is tough and clever, a survivor and I liked her a lot. Her lifetime partner is also a well  developed character. The story has you sitting on the edge of your seat, shouting no don’t let that happen, with the unpredictable turns in the plot.

Tabitha is known for writing sexy, erotic romances. Don’t be put off by that if romance is not your think, this book is so much more that “just” about romance. It is not about the characters falling in love and getting together as they already are an established couple. It is a story about their struggle for survival in a hostile future.

The sex. There is sex in the book, plenty of it, and well written. Far from being a bolt on for titillation (though it might) it is important to the story as you will see.

Finally. This is the second book in a trilogy and the prequel to Clockwork Butterfly, I would recommend reading this first, personally. I much prefered this book (for a variety of reasons). Then if you go on to read the Clockwork Butterfly you will already understand the setting.

I’m seriously looking forward to reading the third…

By the way. You may wonder why I thought this book way better than the other. Well, it is a personal thing but I liked the main characters in this book and could relate to them whereas the central character in Clockwork Butterfly begins the story as a young virgin and it explores themes of sexual awakening and falling in love with a man you have just met. These are common themes in romance novels but I prefer my characters to be mature and experienced.

Find it here: http://beachwalkpress.com/tabitha_rayne/

Leave a Reply

