LGBT Christmas Adverts

As I’m working on a gay Christmas story today, I’m thrilled to see Sainsbury has queer families in its 2016 Christmas advert. And other families that reflect our diverse community in the UK.

Readers from around the world might not understand the importance of Christmas advertising. In the UK Christmas is a big deal. Companies shut dow for days – typically TWO WEEKS in construction! And there is big competition among top retailers to produce the best advert of the season.

In 2015 Sainsbury gave us a gay couple in an ad but it wasn’t THE MAIN Christmas advert. Called The Pact, you can watch it here:

The card company Hallmark have also joined the club producing a Christmas ad featuring a gay couple:

The Robert Dyas Christmas advert is a very special example of British humour. I laughed out loud until my stomach hurt when I first saw it, yet I know some people are just confused by it. In that respect, it’s a lot like reading one of my books!

On the subject of advertising, I suppose it’s only right that I tell you I have a new book out in two weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

